I’m on a house project kick right now:  it’s too early for gardening, so that kick will come in a couple months.

All the renovation blogs that I’ve gotten myself hooked on lately have made a couple of thoughts go through my head.  Some of them aren’t very practical/logical, but I’ll share them with you anyway.

1.  I wish our house was in worse shape so that we could have more fun projects to do.   Clearly this is irrational thinking.  I’ve “saved” myself thousands and thousands of dollars by NOT having to gut the whole kitchen (or at least I’ve saved myself some really hard work).  Why would I wish it back to its crummy before-we-bought-it status?  I don’t know.

2.  All of these people are so creative and dollar-savy.  It would’ve cost me twice that much to do that project.  This is attributable to laziness and impatience.  If I want to get something done, sometimes I’m too impatient to truly scope out the good deals and instead find myself running to make a one-stop shopping trip at Home Depot.  Not always smart.  I’m going to work on that.

3.  Why does everyone always have amazing connections?  It would make life so much easier if I was an architect, my husband was a contractor, my dad ran a home improvement store and my father-in-law owned a rock quarry.  My life never works out like that.  sigh.

But even more so than some of those thoughts, reading those blogs makes me excited to slowly but surely tackle something similar on my own.  I’ve been compiling a list of “If I Had a Million Dollars, This is What I’d Do to My House”  projects, and by golly, I’m going to do my best to check a few of them off over the next year or two.

