This past Monday was the hubby’s 29th birthday.  Gasp.  With me being almost 5 years younger, Ross’s age makes me feel a little bit better about the numbers rapidly adding up on my own age, but it doesn’t really do anything to help him feel better.  One of my girlfriend’s summed it up beautifully in an email to him:  “I’m not making any age related jokes, because I genuinely feel bad about how old you are…have a wonderful 45th!”

So to spice things up and kick that “I’m almost 30 – woe is me” funk, one of Ross’s “big” presents from me was 4 private dance lessons at a dance studio right around the corner from us.  I had arranged it so that our first lesson was on the night of his birthday. 

Watching him open the gift certificate and then figure out what it was, I saw the look of hesitation and then a wee bit of panic.  Ross isn’t a natural mover, let’s just put it that way.  But being in a private setting with a super cool teacher, we got into it right away. 

We were pretty open to what style of dance to learn – I just wanted to do something fun – so our instructor suggested the Rumba.  In simple terms, it’s the box-step with a Latin twist.  Not too fast and not difficult, but you get to move your hips and swoop around which you can’t do in, say, the waltz for example.  As soon as the lesson was over (and boy did it go by fast!) we quickly scheduled our next lesson.  And if I have to be honest, there was a little rumba-ing going on this morning before work.  When else do we have time to practice?

