While I stall just a bit longer on the after shots of our Study, I thought I’d give some before and after shots of another little house project I tackled this past week.  When you own a home, but don’t have a lot of money just lying around, you learn to be creative about your home improvement projects.  And a poor homeowner’s best friend is nothing other than a can of paint.  A can of paint is generally the cheapest way to make the biggest impact.  And when said can of paint came with the house, well, that’s just the icing on the home improvement cake.

After over a year of daily use (and even more if you count the previous owners) our front stoop was looking pretty ragged.  Now in an ideal world, I’d prefer to jackhammer the whole stoop and attached front walk and do something a little more sturdy and attractive.  But like I said, when you’re poor you learn to be creative.  So out came the paint.  And if I do say so myself, I think the finished product turned out pretty nicely.  [Sorry these are a bit dark – the house project-ing all happened at night – that’s what a 9-5 does to you]

1. Sweep off and wipe down current gross porch

2.  In mid-paint.  This shows how bad it was:  the paint had started chipping off right in front of the door.  Attractive.

3.  Done!

4.  The finishing touches.

