finally, the day arrived.  like i said before, it poured up until about 10 o’clock that morning.  but even though the sun was out by the time i walked down the aisle, the rain had already done its damage.  flooding (of all things to happen in the beginning of october) had caused momentary road blockages to just about any and all routes of passage from norfolk to hopewell.  this was only significant because my photographer, my beloved photographer and obviously one of my most thought out components of the entire wedding, was stuck.  not stuck in the mud per se, but just unable to find a road that would lead him to my wedding.

for four hours he drove, doubled back, cut through, and tripled back to find an unblocked road – and finally he made it – as ross and i were walking down the aisle as man and wife.  that’s right, my photographer missed my entire ceremony.  at least i can have a good sense of humor about the whole thing – the irony of the situation didn’t escape me, that’s for sure.  other than that, (oh and a silly little thing called a marriage license, another story for another day) the whole day went off without a hitch.  i absolutely loved how everything turned out:  decorations very fallish, but not fussy or too formal, all music performed live by close friends, some awesome pauses in the ceremony for worship, taking communion together with everyone, my parents and in-laws praying over us, and walking out joyfully after the “i now pronounce you man and wife!”

here are a few shots from the whirlwind day.

thanks for joining me on my jaunt down memory lane.  ross and i can’t wait to see what the next year of marriage holds for us.

the end.

