Tags

, , ,

the tomatoes are really coming in now, and as the next couple weeks may be their last hurrah (more on that below), i thought i’d introduce the cast .

IMG_5456_2Sungold.  My first tomato to come in (on july 23rd) and now they’re coming out of my ears.  An orange cherry that is very very sweet and easy to pop into salads or salsas.

IMG_5461_2

Yellow Pear.  Still a small tomato – more like a cherry tomato with a pear-like stem and a super bright yellow color.

IMG_5450_2

Carbon – A purple beefsteak variety, and probably my most prolific grower (aside from the sungolds)  Mine turned out a dusky red, with a little green at the top.

IMG_5481-crop

German Red Strawberry – At least, I think this is a German Red Strawberry.  The labels I had in the ground got washed off before I could write down what I had planted where.  It doesn’t fit the seed catalog description perfectly, but it’s the only large red variety i grew this year.

IMG_5455_2

Roman Candle –  Even though these look like yellow Roma tomatoes, I don’t think they’re related to the Roma.  Romas are considered paste tomatoes, meaning they don’t have as much juice inside, making them better for tomato paste and tomato sauce.  These are pretty juicy, but I love their shape and color.

IMG_5454_2

Green Zebra – The tomatoes are actually meant to stay green.  As they ripen, they get greenish yellow zig zag stripes.

IMG_5471s

Moneymaker –  This was a variety I grew last year and I enjoyed them a lot.  They’re not huge slicing tomatoes (only about the size of a ping pong ball) but they’re bright red and almost perfectly round.

Now for the bad news…  my tomato plants have Late Blight.  I would never have known what this was if I hadn’t been reading a few other garden blogs this season.  basically, its a fungus that can spread from long distances through the wind and thrives in cool, wet conditions – our summer has been unseasonably wet (which i have never complained about until now) and presents as small brown patches on plant leaves and stems.  if it infects the fruit, the fruit turn dark brown and shrivel up.  there isn’t a cure, only uprooting the entire plant, wrapping it in plastic and throwing it away keeps the fungus from spreading.  the fungus isn’t harmful to humans, so that’s the one upside – if i can keep it under control by cutting away bad parts, i can continue harvesting any unaffected fruit.  since our tomato season can easily extend into october barring any big frosts, i’m pretty bummed at the thought of losing everything only 1 month into harvesting tomatoes.  but everything else is looking good and i can always try again next year.

IMG_5447_2

